Toyota Hilux Range Updated in SA

Toyota has updated and expanded its Hilux range in South Africa. See details below…

The Toyota Hilux leads the South African bakkie market and following the recent introduction of the limited-edition Hilux Dakar, Toyota has now introduced a raft of changes to the local lineup, including a host of new derivatives.

What’s changed?

The face of the SRX and flagship Raider models have been updated with the look seen on the Hilux Dakar.

The Hilux now wears a more refined face inspired by the Dakar limited edition.

The Hilux SRX is powered by a 2.4-litre turbodiesel engine offering 110 kW and 400 Nm and is available in both 6-speed manual and automatic guises.

In terms of styling, the Hilux SRX gains a black-themed front-end with colour-coded bumpers and a matching skid plate. Black side steps and side mirrors provide further visual appeal. The SRX also gains automatic light control with a follow-me-home function, while the interior now benefits from a 4-speaker touchscreen infotainment system (from the Raider) with USB and Bluetooth functionality. The system is controlled with mounted steering wheel controls and a reverse camera is now also part of the SRX package.

Other features included in the SRX grade Hilux include 17-inch alloy wheels, electric windows, remote central locking (with automatic door lock), fog lights, air conditioning, cloth upholstery, rake and reach adjustable steering and a multi-information display. Safety features include a driver, passenger and driver knee airbag as well as ABS with EBD, Brake Assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TC), Trailor Sway Control (TSC).

The flagship Hilux Raider is fitted with a larger and more powerful 2.8-litre turbodiesel engine with peak outputs of 130kW and 420 Nm (450 Nm in automatic guise).

The Hilux Raider now has a chrome grille surround, which complements the black horizontal slats and the electric-folding side mirrors and door handles are also finished off in chrome. The LED fog lamp surrounds incorporate horizontal and vertical elements in black and chrome. Full LED headlights and Daytime Running Lights (DRLs) are standard.

The touchscreen infotainment system has been upgraded to include navigation and DVD playback capability. The system is USB- and Bluetooth-enabled and comes with 6 speakers, all controlled using the mounted steering wheel controls.

The most obvious change on the inside is the full black interior inherited from the Hilux Dakar with a black headliner and metallic black trim finishes. Other standard features include 18-inch alloy wheels, high-grade cloth upholstery, air-conditioned glovebox, leather steering wheel and gear lever, automatic climate control, TFT colour multi-information display, 12 – and 220 V sockets, rear armrest with cupholders. A total of 7 airbags are standard.

New Hilux Derivatives Added

Single Cab

Toyota has introduced an additional automatic derivative in the form of the Hilux 2.4 GD-6 “Raised Body” SRX equipped with a 6-speed automatic transmission. The Hilux SR grade (fleet and mining) now includes a 2.4 GD-6 Raised Body Manual variant (previously only available in 4×4 configuration). The 2.7 VVTi SRX has been discontinued.

Xtra Cab

Toyota has introduced a new mid-grade Hilux 2.4 GD-6 SRX “Raised Body” 6-speed automatic in response to market demand.

Toyota has now introduced a new grade level for Hilux called “S”. The Hilux S is an entry-level workhorse grade that foregoes comfort and luxury in favour of functionality and durability. This new grade features a PVC interior, J-Deck tailgate design with cargo hooks and rides on 17-inch steel wheels. The Hilux S is further distinguished by its black bumpers and grille.

The Hilux S is offered with either the 2.7-litre petrol engine with 122 kW and 245 Nm (5-speed manual) or the 2.4GD-6 engine with a 6-speed manual transmission.

The Hilux SR range has expanded with a 4×2 “Raised Body” derivative which also features the J-Deck design and black bumpers and grille.

There’s also a new Hilux 2.4GD-6 SRX 4×2 Automatic which now joins the range. The previous Hilux 2.7 SRX has been discontinued.

Chassis Cab

Toyota has reintroduced 3 Chassis Cab variants, which include the 2.0 VVTi 5-speed manual AC workhorse, 2.4 GD-6 5-speed manual AC workhorse and 2.4 GD-6 6-speed manual SRX 4×4. Lastly, the Inferno Orange metallic exterior paint colour from the Hilux Dakar is now offered across the Hilux range.